

General Assembly of the Association of Towns awarded the Europe Prize Lublin, on June 1, 2024

Minutes

On June 1, 2024 representatives of member towns of the Association of Towns awarded the Europe Prize met at the General Assembly in Lublin (Poland) at the Lublin Town Hall.

Participants of the General Assembly in Lublin:

- Mr Krzysztof Żuk, Mayor of Lublin, President of the Association
- Mr Krzysztof Stanowski, Director of the International Cooperation Centre of the Lublin City Office
- Mr Pierre-Alain Fridez, Vice-Chairperson of the Europe Prize Sub-Committee, Office
 of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe
- Mrs Prisca Barthel, Office of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe
- Mr Herbert Hofauer, retired Mayor of Altötting, former Vice-President of the Association
- Mr Ryszard Stefaniak, Deputy Mayor of Częstochowa
- Mrs Marzena Curpjak-Wagner, Head of the Department of Foreign Cooperation and Tourism of the City of Częstochowa
- **Mr Michal Kopriva**, Head of the EU Office for International Cooperation and Marketing of the City of Würzburg.
- Mr Marcus Püll, the Mayor of the City of Mülheim
- Ms Alexandra Taulien, administrative worker at the City of Mülheim
- Mrs Evelyne Beaudeux, Deputy Mayor of Nancy
- Ms Verena Denry, City of Nancy project manager in the International relations département of the City of Nancy and Métropole of Greater Nancy



- Ms Oleksandra Czykhladze, Chairwoman of the Permanent Representation of the Association of Towns awarded the Europe Prize in the city of Kharkiv
- Ms Valeriia Kysil, Permanent Representation of the Association of Towns awarded the Europe Prize in Kharkiv
- Mr Ralf Arnemann, Councillor of the Darmstadt City Council
- Mr Sviatoslav Nykorovych, Deputy Mayor of Ivano-Frankivsk
- Ms Uliana Basarab-Ganchak, Head of the Department of International Relations of the City of Ivano-Frankivsk
- Ms Iryna Fishchuk, President of the Charitable Foundation 'Health Ivano-Frankivsk'
- Mr Krzysztof Hewak, Head of the Department of Development and City Promotion of the City of Bolesławiec
- Mr Eneko Goia, Mayor of Donostia/San Sebastián
- Mr Kepa Korta, Director of the City of Donostia/San Sebastián's Strategic Plan
- Mr Iñigo Herce, press officer of the City of Donostia/San Sebastián

Course of the General Assembly:

- Opening of the General Assembly of the Association of Towns awarded the Europe Prize.
 - Welcome speech by Krzysztof Żuk, President of the Association and Mayor of Lublin; highlights:
 - welcoming of each of delegation;
 - invitation to the Night of Culture events;
 - presentation of the programme of the visit to Lviv on the 2nd June
 - supporting of the Ukraine on its way to the European Union membership with the centre for european and international studies at the Marie Curie Skłodowska University and the University of Lorraine (France); double diploma programme



- Welcome by Pierre-Alain Fridez, Vice-Chairperson of the Europe Prize Sub-Committee; highlights:
 - reconciliation of the people and countries of Europe;
 - Winston Churchil's European ideas;
 - effective partnerships with Ukrainian cities;
 - the Europe Prize for 2024: Terrassa (Spain).
- 2) Presentation of the agenda of the General Assembly in accordance with the arrangements of the Presidium 2023
 - adoption of the agenda: unanimously.
- 3) Debate on the "Future of European integration and integration within Europe":
 - Presentations by the representatives of the cities.
 - Donostia/San Sebastián: culture and other mains characteristics of the city
 - Würzburg: Blickpunkt, important integration centre and tool
 - Ivano-Frankivsk HealthFit project
 - Nancy: partnership with Vinnitsya in Ukraine
 - intervention by the representative of Kharkiv
 - short presentation: Lublin, European Capital of Culture 2029 candidate
- 4) Adoption and signing of the Lublin Declaration
- 5) Presentation of the new association's home page https://europeprize.eu/ and discussion on the updating of the visual identification system.
- 6) Selection of the host city for this year's Presidium meeting in december
 - Bolesławiec: agreed



- 7) Selection of the host city for the General Assembly 2025
 - Donostia/San Sebastián: agreed
- 8) Presentation of the conclusions of Youth Forum workshop on "Building trust in integration based on European values".
- 9) AOB (any other business): none

Recorder: Joanna Szeląg, Lublin