2015 General Assembly and Youth Committee Meeting Report

For a period from 21 to 24 May, 2015, in the city of Kharkiv (Ukraine) there was successfully conducted a meeting of the General Assembly and a meetings of the Youth Committee of the Association of the Towns Awarded the Europe Prize. The following towns participated in the event: Altötting (Federal Republic of Germany), Ankara (Republic of Turkey), Bursa (Republic of Turkey), Gdynia (Republic of Poland), Klaipeda (Republic of Lithuania) and Nuremberg (Federal Republic of Germany).

The topic of the meeting of the General Assembly was: "Role of the International Inter-Municipal Partnership in the Activity of Local Authorities: Value, Trends and Best Practices". Representatives of the towns-members had an opportunity to speak and present the best projects implemented by their municipalities in the area of international relations and tourism, as well as exchange experience with their colleagues.

During the meeting important organizational decisions were made. Thus, there was formed the new Presidium from the representatives of the following towns: Altötting (Federal Republic of Germany), Ankara (Republic of Turkey), Bursa (Republic of Turkey), Czestochowa (Republic of Poland), Darmstadt (Federal Republic of Germany), Kharkiv (Ukraine), Klaipeda (Republic of Lithuania), Mülheim an der Ruhr (Federal Republic of Germany).

Within the frame of the meeting of the General Assembly there were conducted elections of the President of the Association of the Towns Awarded the Europe Prize. The Mayor of Kharkiv

Mr. Gennadiy Kernes was unanimously elected the President of the Association. He succeeded in that position the Mayor of Ankara Mr. Melih Gökçek. For the four years of his activity Mr. Melih Gökçek achieved as the President of the Association significant results: the number of the participants of the meetings increased, cooperation between the members of the Association became more active, and there was thoroughly considered a series of pressing problems in the area of city management.

In his turn, the newly elected President Mr.Gennadiy Kernes is determined to continue this efficient activity and introduce new initiatives, which will contribute to bringing the work of the Association to an even higher level.

The Mayor of Czestochowa, Mr. Krzysztof Matyjaszczyk, was elected the Vice-President of the Association of the Towns Awarded the Europe Prize; he undoubtedly will continue his intensive activity in that position.

During the General Assembly there was also made a decision to conduct elections of the Presidium of the Association in Bursa (Republic of Turkey) in 2015, and the next meeting of the General Assembly and the meeting of the Youth Committee in Klaipeda (Republic of Lithuania) in 2016. The topics of the General Assembly and the meeting of the Youth Committee will be determined during the meeting of the Presidium in Bursa.

In addition, on 22 May, 2015, within the frame of the General Assembly there was conducted the International conference: "Renewable Energy Sources and Combating Climate Change". At the Conference its participants shared the best municipal practices in the area of efficient use of energy resources. On the same day there was held the meeting of the Youth Committee, which participants worked on the topic: "More Tolerance, Less Racism in Daily Life".

For the period of 2015 – 2016 the office of the Association of Towns Awarded the Europe Prize will be located at the following address: Ukraine, 61003, the city of Kharkiv, 7 pl. Konstitutsii, Kharkiv City Council, International Cooperation Department.